A Fail and a Triumph

I love to bake and I am pretty good at it but I must admit that sometimes I fail!!!! Its hard to admit but it does happen occasionally and today was one of those days. I had found a recipe a few weeks ago that I thought my husband would love. So I bought all the ingredients, had everything I needed and decided since today was Valentine’s day I would make them special for him today. I mixed all the ingredients together, rolled them in nice balls so they would all be uniform shape and put them in the heated oven and left them to bake for the alotted time. On my way back to the kitchen I was hit by the smell of something burning, I turned off the oven and opened the door and this is what I found…………..

What had I done wrong???? So I called my mom, told her the story and asked her advice. My mistake, I had used maragarine when the recipe called for butter! My mom’s advice was to clean up the mess, add more flour to my mixture and try again. I followed her wise advice and this is what I got on the second try……..

So what I learned today was….sometimes you are going to fail, sometimes its best to follow the directions and not try to do it your own way and sometimes you need your mom’s help!!! Thanks mom for saving my cookies!

The end result was great and Carl loved the White Chocolate Coconut Toffee Cookies!

So here is the recipe:

1 cup BUTTER

3/4 cup white sugar

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1/2 tsp vanilla

2 1/4 cup flour

1tsp baking soda

1 cup toffee bits

1 pkg white chocolate chips

3/4 cup shredded coconut

 

Preheat oven to 350. Cream butter and sugars together till smooth. Add vanilla and egg. Mix in flour and soda till combined. Stir in toffee buts, chocolate chips and coconut. Drop by the spoonful onto cookie sheet and bake 10-12 minutes, let cool on sheet for a few minutes before removing to wire rack to cool completely.

So today was both a fail and a triumph.

I would love for you to share your fails with us, we can all learn something that will make us into better cooks and bakers!

Leave a Reply

