Cheesy Garlic Biscuits

Normally when I make chili, I serve garlic bread or regular biscuits with it, but the other day I was inspired and decided to try something new so I experimented and came up with a combination of the two. They turned out great, hardy like a biscuit with a hint of cheese and garlic…perfect with my homemade chili on a cold wintery evening. Hope you enjoy them!

 

 3 cups flour

3 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/3 cup shortening

1 1/2 cups buttermilk( I add 2 tbsp vinegar to the milk and let it 5 minutes to make it buttermilk)

1 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese

2 tsp garlic powder

parsley flakes

Sift flour, baking powder, and soda into mixing bowl, cut in shortening and add buttermilk, garlic powder and parsley flakes, add cheese and mix well.

Roll out dough on floured surface and cut with biscuit cutter(as you can see I use a glass!). Place them on a baking sheet and bake 15-20 minutes at 350.

These are great served warm with chili, stew or soup

Enjoy!

If you try this recipe let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

