Coconut Cream Pie

I love pie. Any flavor, any kind, I am a pie addict!!! This recipe is for my husband’s favorite kind of pie…Coconut Cream!! I made one this morning and its in fridge right now taunting me!!! So I decided to share my recipe with you so you can make one too. I hope you enjoy it!

Pie crust( I cheated and used a frozen one!)

2 large eggs

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup flour

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

2 cups milk

2 cups coconut

2 tbsp butter

whip cream

additional coconut toasted( see my next post on an easy way to toast it)

ingredients minus the crust and toasted coconut

 Ina medium bowl whisk together the eggs, sugar, flour and vanilla until smooth, warm milk up in a pan over medium heat until nearly simmering. Whisk constantly. Slowly pour hot milk over egg mixture. Return mixture to the pan. Cook over low heat, stirring constantly until it begins to boil and thickens enough to coat the back of a spoon, about 5 mins

Remove from heat and add coconut and butter, let stand 10 minutes stirring occasionally. Pour custard into a prepared  crust, cover with plastic wrap and chill completely about 1-1 1/2 hours.

adding coconut

prepared crust

 

custard in pie crust ready to chill

 With electric mixer, beat cream until stiff peaks form. Spread over the chilled custard, chill pie for 30 minutes and then sprinkle with toasted coconut and enjoy!

finished product!

I would love to hear from you if you try this recipe. I would also love to hear what everyone’s favorite pie is!!!

Leave a Reply

