Homemade

Everyone knows homemade taste better than store bought. But nowadays its all about convenience. But with convenience we are sacrificing taste and nutrition. Almost 2 years ago my husband was diagnosed with high blood pressure, he was told to cut out as much salt as possible. The time we spent in the grocery store doubled, we checked the nutrition label on everything and we were blown away by what we read. Sodium is added to everything, especially processed foods in order to prolong their shelf lives. Some of our favorite products contained half or almost all of the reccomended daily intake of sodium. Needless to say we dont buy those products anymore. Companies are getting better and alot of them now offer reduced sodium versions but you have to be careful of the expiry date! I have always loved cooking and baking and experimenting with new recipes, so over the last year and half or so I have been finding and trying different recipes similiar to some of our favorite items that we have cut out on because of the sodium. And with most of the items, I will never go back to store bought again! I am lucky I am a stay at home wife who has lots of time to do this, but we all have a little time to try something. and we have found in the long run we are saving money!!!  I have found that canning and freezing makes my life simpler. In the fall I pickle beets, dill pickles, relish, salsa. I make jams with berries and freeze extra, especially blueberries!! I freeze all extra bananas for banana bread. I make all my own sweets, no store bought cookies here! I have made my own crackers and chips. My crockpot has become one of my most loved kitchen tools. Its a great way to make a meal without spending a lot of time. I have made soups, stews, lasgana, meatloaf, roast, chickens and even an apple pie in mine. A great way to save time during the busy work week is to cook a couple casserole meals or crock pot meal on the weekend and freeze them for later in the week, just take it out of the freezer and pop it in the oven, so much better than a store bought frozen meal. On Saturday mornings in my house we have homemade waffles, I make extra and freeze them in 2s in ziploc bags for  an easy  and quick breakfast during the week. Another item I have almost completely stopped buying at the grocery store is salad dressing. There are so many great dressing and sauce recipes out there. They taste so much better and fresher than store bought. I recently found a recipe for homemade ceaser salad dressing and homemade croutons, they are sooo good, and so simple to make, I dont think I will ever buy another bottle of ceaser salad dressing again! I used to cheat when it came to pie, I would buy the frozen premade crusts, mot anymore! Next adventure for me is making homemade bread and rolls, I will be sharing this experience here with you in the coming days! I always thought it was hard work making things from scratch but I have quickly learned its worth the extra time to make things myself. Everything taste better, fresher and is so much more healthy for us. So if you are new to this, take your time, try one thing at a time. I want this blog to inspire you to try making something  from scratch that you always buy premade. Over the next few weeks I will be sharing some of the recipes I discussed here, and sharing some of my time saving tips! If you try any of my recipes or have any of your own “homemade” stories please fell free to share them here or on the facebook page! Cant wait to hear from you!

 

3 responses

  1. Philippe and I try to do everything Homemade.. He also like Carl has high blood pressure, but it is not to high.. We shop the outer perimeter of the grocery store.. I find it the easiest way to stay away from the high sodium items.. Usually once a month we will go in the aisles to stock up on pantry items..
    Now being a mother, I have taken on the challenge of making my own baby food.. It is so much fun and so much healthier.. Brielle enjoys it also.

Leave a Reply

